House Clears Farm Bill in 213-211 Vote

Posted on 06/21/2018 3:08 PM

Ag Chairman Conaway scores major win as Dems could not defeat measure second time

House Ag Chairman Mike Conaway (R-Texas) scored a major victory that many Democrats, including House Ag Ranking Member Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), thought would not occur as the House cleared the farm bill on its second try, 213-211, with all of the yes votes being Republican.

The Senate next week is slated to vote on its far less controversial bill that is expected to pass that chamber.

Next step after the Senate clears its farm bill next week: A conference panel will iron out the differences between the two measures, with the most difficult being the wide difference between them regarding expanded worker requirements relative to food stamps.

Key unknown is whether House GOP leaders will hold a vote on the coming conference report before November elections, as it will not include the food stamp provisions in the House bill. President Trump's comments ahead on the matter is also a wild card. Veteran farm bill watchers say odds favor a vote after November elections.

Key questions ahead include: Is there any level of work requirements beyond what exist that could be supported by any House Dems and enough Senate Dems? Will payment limitations change more than either of the current versions of the farm bill? Will Dems in the House rethink their strategy since it did not result in them stopping the bill in opposition led by Democratic Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and Peterson. If they get a conference agreement before November but not vote on it, do they still hand Dems a campaign issue?

And... Will the Senate farm bill consideration be as drama lacking as the Committee action?

Republicans who voted no on the farm bill were:

Justin Amash (R-Mich.)
Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.)
Jeff Duncan (R-Tenn.)
Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.)
Frelinghuysen (R-N.J.)
Matt Gaetz (R-Fla.)
Thomas Garrett (R-Va.)
Walter Jones (R-N.C.)
John Katko (R-N.Y.)
Pete King (R-N.Y.)
Leonard Lance (R-N.J.)
Frank LoBiondo (R-N.J.)
Thomas Massie (R-Ky.)
Tom McClintock (R-Calif.)
Dana Rohrabacher (R-Calif.)
Ilena Ros-Lehtinen (R-Fla.)
Keith Rothfus (R-Pa.)
Mark Sanford (R-S.C.)
Chris Smith (R-N.J.)
Fred Upton (R-Mich.)

Two Republicans did not vote:

Scott Perry (R-Pa.)
Robert Aderholt (R-Ala.)


Add new comment